current affairs · news · Opinion

Ten tips to get you through Christmas

img_3831

It’s official: the silly season has begun. So, once again, here are a few tips to help you manage the hassles of Christmas. I can vouch for these because I’ve been fine-tuning them for years. Each year I change it a bit to reflect the needs of the day.

But however I adapt it, I can honestly say, Christmas now doesn’t stress me.

1) Organise Kris Kringle’s for every Christmas present circle you’re in. This cuts down on shopping and prevents a bewildering clutter of presents for each recipient – even the children. They quickly learn the joy of giving, as everyone watches for the reaction as presents are opened one by one, rather than in a frenzied melee.

2) Put downward pressure on the price limit. Everyone says $10? Then argue for $5. The year we did $5 it was hilarious. My father bought us all nail clippers and I’ve still got them. Still chuckle every time I use them.

3) Buy all presents in the shopping centre within walking distance of your house. You don’t have the right shops? I don’t believe you! I used to think that too until I tried it myself. It’s a real eye opener. Even a voucher for the local coffee shop can make an ideal present. The local shop-keepers will love you for it and you will not get caught up in a traffic jam only to fight your way through anonymous crowds, as everyone’s good-will evaporates.

4) Somewhat related to this and at the risk of sounding too politically correct: buy recycled or give something homemade. You can stretch this a bit, like I did when I gave  chutneys and pickles made in my friend Stephanie’s home.

5) Only buy the (Kris Kringle) present(s) for each Christmas party as close as possible to the day before. Sounds crazy but it isn’t. This stops you over-thinking it. You’re walking to the local shops or buying while you’re there on other errands, so it’s all tucked into your usual routine. You haven’t been tricked by consumerism into flipping out because you’re overwhelmed.

6) Buy all the festive food locally, making an exception for only one or two items.  If possible extend this to buying food produced as close to home as possible.

7) Use the same decorations each year, adding only incrementally. Don’t go with the latest colour or fad.

8) Decide the date before which you will refuse to acknowledge Christmas. One of my daughters has a late October birthday. I don’t think about Christmas until after that date. It doesn’t matter how many Christmas items start filling the shops, I know from past experience I will still get Christmas ‘done’ in time, even if I refuse to think about it until my set date. (Since we’re past that date now, think about this one for next year.)

9) When someone says they’re anxious about all the things they have to do for Christmas, tell them you’re not, even if it isn’t true (yet).  This punctures their anxiety balloon because they’ve been given permission to de-escalate.

10) Out of a commitment to the environment, I managed to get the whole way through the year without buying a new dress. (Easier than you think, yet harder than you think.) My husband and I went shopping and bought a new dress to celebrate. The challenge now is to accept that this ‘new’ dress will be repeated in all the photos on social media of all the parties I go to. I’m hearing you, this one doesn’t make Christmas easier, but it does reduce the tyranny of things, although I will spend a bit more time washing, to keep it fresh.

So have a Merry (that is peaceful, joyous, calm) Christmas. It is after all, about celebrating the birth in an unadorned, simple manger, of a person who put loving each other ahead of loving things.

2 thoughts on “Ten tips to get you through Christmas

Leave a comment